The POP project

Everyone has a calling, everyone. I strongly believe that each individual is endowed with a skill set or genes or a history in his/her life that makes them equipped to get through life.

I started this blog primarily because, almost exactly last year which was my last year of college, I knew exactly what I wanted to do. Everything made sense, everything was all set. One year down the line, I graduated, interned in an advertising agency, chipped off my heart and here I am, no passion.

No, it’s not a burn out. If I was burnt out, I would’ve known exactly what I ran eight months for but I don’t. In the past few weeks, I find myself wanting to be something different, somewhere different. Anywhere but here and anything but this.

The above picture is a list of books that I’ve accumulated through the years; I’m an extremely slow reader and I believe that anything started should be finished. These books have been half read, brushed through and carried in long journeys yet unfinished. What’s my point? Well, just starting my job, I am required to go through three months of probation – it is the time I am taught and tested. Within those three months, both the company and I would know where I stand – I could be with them for years dealing with clients and bringing in more clients as I get promoted up the corporate ladder or I could be standing out of their office and walking to the metro station unemployed.

With all this being said, I have taken up the challenge to finish this book list within this three month probation. Why am I doing this unrelated challenge with my probation? Well, before I joined, I felt a lack of completion in my life as well as the lack of passion. I’m a big dreamer and a hard worker, I live my life like a story. And if all or any of these random books give me a hint of passion back, I will take that with me and then perhaps know if I really am meant to stay here.

So in summary, read below:

Title: Pia on Parole (POP) project

Duration: 3 months

Deadline: November 14th, 2011

Reason: To find passion – any trace and any form

Book List:

  • Never Let Me Go
  • I, Lucifer
  • The Importance of Being Earnest
  • Hey, Whipple Squeeze This
  • Jane Eyre
  • The Witch of Portobello

Within every month, I hereby promise to comment and update my status to the public reading-wise, passion-wise and employment-wise.

Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “The POP project

Leave a Reply

