Something to be said

I’d like to tell you something,

it’s been bugging me for weeks – it makes my heart pause and my eyes tear up invisible floods,

I pray for some sense, some way, someone to say that it will be okay,

I know it would be you, I know you would always say that because I know it is true.

I’d like to tell you something,

From the bottom of my foot and passed my jacket covered self,

that I have the courage to keep this going because I had a plan to go from point A to point B.

That God, please grant me the wisdom to know what to do when I don’t and the humility to follow when I have barely the heart or mind to see the way.

I’d like to tell you something,

it’s not a monster under my bed or that I cheated when I said I would stay awake to talk.

I wished home was one for both of us so we can both lie in bed and sink to all that was said.

I’d like to tell you something,

if life was just ours and mine to be, I’d buy a telescope for me to watch while you slept in your world and I, in mine.

I have no direction, I really wish I did. My driver’s license took three years to get, please love, I’d like to forget.

I’d like to tell you something,

it’s simple but not in words. That I love you more than oceans deep and let’s add a couple constellations more,

I want to sway as our records play and wake to morning’s song,

Love, all I wanted to say was I simply could, I’d simply would but I prefer if we could just move along.

Leave a Reply

